Wakayama World Heritage center

HOME > Registered Properties

Registered Properties

1 Name

Sacred Sites and Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range

2 Category of the Property

Cultural Heritage, Monuments and Sites (Cultural Landscapes)

(Reference) World Heritage 1 Natural Heritage
2 Cultural Heritage Monuments
Sites (Cultural Heritage is included)

3 Places (Total 23 cities, towns and villages in three prefectures)

Wakayama Prefecture Shingu City
Tanabe City
Ito County

Katsuragi Town, Kudoyama Town and Koya Town
Nishimuro County Shirahama Town, Susami Town
Higashimuro County Nachikatsuura Town
Nara Prefecture Gojo City
Yoshino County

Yoshino Town, Kurotaki Village, Tenkawa Village, Nosegawa Village, Totsukawa Village, Shimokitayama Village, Kamikitayama Village and Kawakami Village
Mie Prefecture Owase City
Kumano City
Watarai County
Kitamuro County
Minamimuro County

Taiki Town
Kihoku Town
Mihama Town and Kiho Town

4 Classifications

Registered Properties consist seven "Historic Sites", one "Historic Site and Natural Beauty", one "Natural Beauty", one "Natural Beauty and Natural Monument", and four "Natural Monuments" listed below (5). Four "National Treasures" and twenty-three "Important National Properties" are also included.

5 Contents of the Properties

"Sacred Sites and the Pilgrimage Routes in the Kii Mountain Range" consist of the three sacred sites of "Yoshino and Omine" which is the base for Shugendo, "Kumano Sanzan" which is the center of the Kumano Faith, "Koyasan" which is the religious base of esoteric Buddhism, and the Pilgrimage Routes that connect them.


Wakayama Prefecture The World Heritage Registration Association
(Wakayama Prefecture Planning Department Planning Bureau Regional Development Division Branch Office)
100-1 Hongu Hongu Town Tanabe City, Wakayama Prefecture, 647-1731